Skip to content
Tameside Counts — Tameside, in numbers.Local help →

Tameside, in numbers

Projects

Tameside council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Ashton-under-Lyne

Ashton Market Square

The works redesign market stalls and add paving, seating, lighting and event space.

Construction programme published; final completion not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council

What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Ashton Town Centre - Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep the market at the centre of Ashton’s renewal →

Protect new public spaces from deteriorating →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Armentieres Square and surrounding streets

Stalybridge town-centre streets

The 2026 programme upgrades streets, lighting and public spaces, with temporary road restrictions.

Phased works programme; current restrictions need checking · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council

What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Regenerating Stalybridge - Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Roadworks change how people reach Stalybridge →

Protect new public spaces from deteriorating →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Hyde town centre

Former Hyde Library homes

The former library was sold for an approved housing redevelopment that retains the historic frontage.

Sale and planning approval confirmed · evidence dated 2026-02-05

Responsible body: Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council

What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Press Releases →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Bring Hyde’s empty library site back into use →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →