Skip to content
Tameside Counts — Tameside, in numbers.Local help →

Tameside, in numbers

People and living standards

Tameside council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Tameside council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 218,020 in 1991 to 240,822 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Tameside council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 215,970 people in 1996; 240,822 people in 2025. 11.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Tameside council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991218,020
1992218,661
1993218,670
1994218,241
1995217,379
1996215,970
1997216,081
1998214,873
1999213,567
2000212,899
2001213,087
2002213,211
2003213,470
2004213,667
2005213,474
2006214,187
2007214,750
2008216,360
2009217,417
2010218,774
2011219,727
2012220,457
2013221,446
2014222,364
2015223,642
2016225,480
2017226,692
2018228,435
2019229,952
2020230,521
2021231,220
2022233,089
2023235,650
2024238,895
2025240,822
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Tameside council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,530 people in 1996; 46,254 people in 2025. 2.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Tameside council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,488
199247,118
199347,636
199447,915
199547,843
199647,530
199747,446
199846,897
199946,433
200046,040
200145,450
200245,034
200344,402
200443,758
200543,070
200642,682
200742,331
200842,363
200942,455
201042,700
201142,747
201242,997
201343,268
201443,653
201544,060
201644,551
201744,996
201845,570
201945,893
202045,977
202145,867
202246,076
202346,205
202446,383
202546,254
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Tameside council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 135,922 people in 1996; 151,833 people in 2025. 11.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Tameside council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991138,084
1992138,053
1993137,667
1994137,196
1995136,608
1996135,922
1997136,236
1998135,880
1999135,252
2000135,134
2001135,780
2002136,421
2003137,121
2004137,880
2005138,230
2006139,341
2007140,130
2008141,147
2009141,661
2010142,114
2011142,455
2012141,473
2013141,126
2014140,838
2015141,128
2016141,871
2017142,120
2018142,930
2019143,749
2020144,267
2021144,650
2022145,925
2023147,876
2024150,266
2025151,833
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Tameside council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 32,518 people in 1996; 42,735 people in 2025. 31.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Tameside council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,448
199233,490
199333,367
199433,130
199532,928
199632,518
199732,399
199832,096
199931,882
200031,725
200131,857
200231,756
200331,947
200432,029
200532,174
200632,164
200732,289
200832,850
200933,301
201033,960
201134,525
201235,987
201337,052
201437,873
201538,454
201639,058
201739,576
201839,935
201940,310
202040,277
202140,703
202241,088
202341,569
202442,246
202542,735
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 231,070 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tameside · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh21,1989.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5,2752.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,9632.1%
White197,67685.5%
Other ethnic group1,9580.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 219,324 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tameside · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White199,42990.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,1591.4%
Asian/Asian British14,5536.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,7840.8%
Other ethnic group3990.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 213,043 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tameside · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White201,46894.6%
Mixed1,6810.8%
Asian/Asian British8,4674%
Black/Black British5720.3%
Chinese/Other8550.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 21.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Tameside council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,245 per person in 1997; £20,268 per person in 2024. 145.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Tameside council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,245
19988,380
19999,084
20009,401
20019,650
20029,830
200310,206
200410,462
200510,868
200611,267
200711,650
200811,870
200912,521
201012,603
201112,835
201213,275
201313,650
201413,996
201514,568
201614,906
201715,389
201815,710
201916,263
202016,427
202116,847
202217,900
202319,093
202420,268
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Tameside council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -22.3% in 1997; -21.9% in 2024. 0.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Tameside council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-22.3
1998-22.6
1999-19.7
2000-21
2001-22
2002-22.3
2003-21.7
2004-22.9
2005-22.7
2006-23.1
2007-24.1
2008-24.6
2009-21.8
2010-22
2011-21.2
2012-21.4
2013-22.1
2014-22.6
2015-23.4
2016-22.6
2017-21.9
2018-23
2019-22.8
2020-21.7
2021-22.9
2022-22
2023-21.9
2024-21.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.1%

21 March 2021 · Tameside council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.6%

21 March 2021 · Tameside council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.8%

21 March 2021 · Tameside council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.6%

21 March 2021 · Tameside council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£210,000

July 2026 · Tameside council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£931

August 2026 · Tameside council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.